Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Not All Who Wander Are Lost
January 17, 2017 - Florida Keys

Campground Reviews





Below is a list of campgrounds we have stayed at.  I have posted a review for each of them at rvparksreviews.com

In reviewing a campground, I take into consideration several factors such as price, amenities, meeting our current needs, and the ambiance of the park. 


Alabama

Elberta - Jellystone Park Gulf Shores
$20 per night                  6 out of 10

March, 2014 - Price reflects Passport America rate. We stayed one night on our way from Alabama to Florida Panhandle. FHU 50 amp gravel pull-through site. Sites are very long and spacious. Gravel roads. Lots of pine trees so satellite signal may be difficult. Free and fast wi-fi. Very friendly lady in office. Activities for children.

Gulf Shores - Gulf State Park
$34.41 per night            10 out of 10

Beautiful state park a mile from Gulf beaches. FHU 50 amp site. Free wi-fi, but did not work well when park was full. Paved roads and site with patio, picnic table and grill. Sites are huge. Beautiful setting with some sites backing up to a small lake. Miles of hiking and biking paths. Nature center, activities building, small store. They take monthly reservations in winter so difficult to get into without making reservation well in advance. This has been one of the nicest places we have stayed.

Montgomery - Gunter Hill COE Park
$18 per night              8 out of 10

March, 2014 - We were here over Easter break and could not get a site in the newer area which has FHU sites more suitable to big rigs. We were in older part of campground. We had a large site, but the roads are a bit narrow. If we come back, we would only stay in the newer section. We had a 50 amp water and electric site only which backed up to the lake and had nice views. Too many trees to put out our satellite. This is a pretty park with lots of trees and pretty views. We would definitely stay here again in the newer section.

Arizona

Buckeye - Leaf Verde RV Resort (30 miles west of Phoenix)
$350 per month plus electric          8 out of 10


February 24 - March 24, 2011 - This park was very reasonable priced.  Their electric was 9 cents per kwh which was the lowest we have encountered in the Southwest.  We had a FHU 50 amp site with free wi-fi which worked pretty well most of the time.  The sites and roads were gravel with a few trees throughout the park.  The sites were a bit close together, back to back. The park was close to shopping and the interstate, but was also nice and quiet. It had a heated pool, game room, rec hall with some activities, shuffleboard, and a basketball court.  There was a very nice laundry room with very reasonable rates ($1 to wash, $.75 to dry).  We would definitely stay here again.

March 3 - April 3, 2012 - Stayed here for the second year in a row. This time we requested one of the back-in sites along the perimeter of the property which gives you a larger site with more privacy. The price for the site and electricity was still a bargain and had not gone up. Wi-fi was still free but was being switched to a company that will charge for it. Laundry prices had gone up to $1.50 to wash and $1 to dry. Still a great place to stay  in the Phoenix area.


Bowie - Mountain View RV Park
$15 per night                   3 out of 10

April 3, 2012 - Rate is Passport America price. This is an okay place for a night while on the road. A dumpy campground behind a dumpy gas station. FHU 50 amp pull through site. There was a train track right behind the campground, but no train whistles. Noise did not bother us. Free wi-fi which worked great.

Camp Verde - Krazy K RV Park
$18 per night                 7 out of 10

October, 2014 - Rate is Passport America price for one night. This was a gem of find. A small campground which is wonderfully maintained and landscaped. We had a full hookup 50 amp pull-thru site which was pretty level. Sites are a bit close together. Roads and sites are gravel. Very nice pool and hot tub and common areas. Access road was a little rough. Make sure to follow campground instructions to get here. GPS might take you the wrong way. Not far off of I-17. Free wi-fi which was adequate, but rather slow other than early in the morning. We would definitely stay here again.

Camp Verde - Distant Drums RV Resort
$44.75 per night                 7 out of 10

October, 2015 - Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Site was 50 amp full hook up, pull through site. Wi-fi was very slow. There were two or three rallies going on in the park, so we got one of the last spots available for one night on our way to Yuma. Our site was too short to park our truck, but there was a parking spot across the road. Road are paved and sites have concrete pads. Very well maintained and landscaped park, but being as full as it was, it felt very tight and cramped. Sites are pretty tight, especially when full of large RVs. We were escorted to our site which was a good thing as we had to weave around to get to our spot. Upon leaving we had to have office come and tell people to move their cars from the road so we could get out. Nice pool and hot tub, laundry and showers. It was a bit overpriced in our opinion. We would much rather stay at Krazy K RV Park, but they were booked for the night.

Casa Grande - Los Colinas RV Resort
$28.29 per night          8 out of 10


February, 2011 - The rate reflects the weekly price for a FHU site. Wi-fi was available at an extra charge.  They did not accept credit cards.  The park itself was very nice and quiet.  Extremely clean, well maintained with paved roads and nicely landscaped.   Sites were large and there were a number of trees and bushes.  Much more green space than most desert parks.  The site also had a concrete pad at the front side of the camper.  The resort had a pool and a hot tub, shuffleboard, horseshoes and a number of activities as well as a laundry room. We felt the price was a bit high for the weekly rate, but the monthly rate was reasonable.  The people in the office were very friendly and helpful.  We would definitely consider staying here again.  We would have rated it higher if the wi-fi was included and the weekly rate was a bit lower.


Tucson - Desert Trails RV Park
$460 per month including electricity                7 out of 10


January 3 - March 3, 2012 - We stayed here for 2 months. During that time we left our RV to go on a cruise. The office staff was very helpful in keeping an eye on it for us while we were gone. Owner and management were very nice. Lots of activities and entertainment. Sites are very tight and the park is rather old and "tired". We had a 30 amp site with only one plug at the post with no breakers. Our surge protector shut the power down a few times due to low voltage. Free wi-fi which was worked sporadically. The park has a pool and hot tub, well stocked library, mini-golf, and bocce courts. There are lots of great hiking trails in the desert accessible directly from the RV park. We did a lot of hiking on those trails and enjoyed it. Unfortunately, there is a shooting range nearby and the constant popping sound of the guns shooting every day was annoying. We probably wouldn't stay here again due to the age of the amenities and tightness of sites.


Yuma - Caravan Oasis RV Resort
$17.58 per night          7 out of 10

January 17 - February 17, 2011 - The rate reflects the monthly rate plus 16 cents per kw hour for electricity.  There was also a $12.50 service fee on the electric.  Wi-fi was available at an extra charge.  Free cable was available, but we didn't use it so can't say if it worked.  We were told we had to pay for a deluxe site due to our size, but the site was barely deep enough for us.  It was a FHU site, but only had 30 amp electric.  It was a little wider than an average site, but by no means a large site.  This was a large resort with over 500 sites including park models and RVs.  Some of them were quite old.  The park was pretty well maintained.  It was corporate owned and the majority of tenants were Canadian.  Amenities included 2 pools, 2 hot tubs, shuffleboard, horseshoes, volleyball, putting green, billiard room, mailboxes, a small exercise area and a clubhouse.  There was a full calendar of activities to participate in.  Most all were at an extra cost from 25 cents to play shuffleboard to $5 for some meals.  Overall, people were friendly.  We enjoyed our stay, but think it was a bit overpriced compared to some other parks in the area.   We probably wouldn't stay here again.

Yuma - Fortuna de Oro RV Resort
$9 per night                    9 out of 10

Oct. 15 - Dec. 31, 2014 - The rate reflects a fall special. The cost is $595 from Sept. 1 through Dec. 31st. We weren't able to arrive until mid-October, but the price is still the same. A very good deal for the fall. It was quite hot when we first arrived, but cooled off nicely into the 70s and 80s for Nov. and Dec. This resort was purchased a few years ago by the Cal-Am corporation. They have done many upgrades including a beautiful sports complex with 8 pickleball courts, 6 tennis courts, very nice shuffleboard area, horseshoes and bocce ball. The two pools and hot tubs are also very nice. A full calendar of activities to keep you busy. This resort has over 1,200 sites. There are two sections. The older section has quite a few park models. Some are quite old, but the resort is working on getting them removed. The newer section is all gravel pull-through sites with paved roads. FHU sites with 50 amp electric. Wi-fi throughout the park. It worked fairly well, especially when it wasn't too crowded yet with the rest of the snowbirds. There is also a full length 9 hole golf course on the property which we played regularly. Much work is being done to improve the course and green fees are very reasonable. Many Canadians, but people were very nice. This is a 55+ park, but there are many very active residents. We liked it so much we are coming back next winter for the full season.

Yuma - The Palms RV Resort
$17 per night               7 out of 10

Jan. through Feb., 2015 - We stayed at a special rate of buy one month, get one free for first time visitors. This resort is a membership park where all lots are for sale, and those that aren't sold yet are rented by the corporation that owns it. Although there are some very nice amenities including fairly large sites, a beautiful pool area and activity buildings, and nice landscaping; there were many reasons we would not stay here again. We definitely would not buy a lot here. Prices were quite high, and you run the risk of someone buying the neighboring lot and putting a large house on it so all you see are walls as your view. Also, they advertise 24/7 security with a manned guard house at the gate. About 90% of the time we were coming or going, there was no one in the guard house. Residents have a card to swipe to open the gate. We frequently witnessed several cars lined up waiting to get in, and a resident would come along and swipe their card to open the gate and anyone could drive in without being checked out. The security was a joke. There are only two tennis/pickleball courts. The tennis courts have pickleball lines painted on them so these courts are often in use and it is difficult to get to play. There are very nice shuffleboard courts. They have a full calendar of activities, some cost extra. There was lots of construction going on throughout the park on lots that were sold, so it was quite noisy from that as well as a nearby train track and planes going over to the nearby airport. The wi-fi did not work the entire time we were there. The office washed their hands of it and said to call the company who blamed the resort. Office people were not very helpful or knowledgeable. We felt this resort was very overpriced for the area, and there are many other choices in Yuma for a better price. We would not stay here again.

Arkansas

Bella Vista - Bella Vista Village RV Park
$36.00 per night           6 out of 10

April, 2014 - Price is Good Sam rate. We had a FHU 50 amp site. Some sites are electric and water only. This is basically a large gravel parking lot with one main road down the middle and back-in only sites along both sides. Free cable and wi-fi. Nice bathrooms and laundry building. Next to a park with hiking and biking trails. We felt it was very overpriced for what you got, and would probably not stay here again.

Little Rock - Downtown Riverside RV Park
$23.48 per night                8 out of 10

March, 2014 - Rate was Good Sam price. We had a FHU 50 amp pull through site. Some back in sites available right along the river. This is a small city owned RV park right on the Arkansas River in downtown Little Rock. Right across the street from farmer's market, Clinton Library and downtown. Great walking and biking trails go right through the campground. Clean and safe area. Little Rock had lots of things to see including state capitol. Definitely call ahead for reservations as they filled up each night we were there. We would definitely stay here again.

West Memphis - Tom Sawyer Mississippi River Park
$35 per night                   8 out of 10

March, 2014 - Rate was Good Sam price. Close to Memphis and right on the Mississippi River. We enjoyed watching barges go up and down river. Gravel roads. We were in new sites for fifth wheels right along the river with concrete pads and FHU 50 amp service and great views out the back window. Free wi-fi, slow but adequate. This is the only place we've ever stayed with free laundry and the machines were excellent. It rained quite a bit before we arrived and the park was quite wet and muddy. We would definitely stay here again.

California

Beaumont - Cherry Valley Lakes
Free (Membership Presentation)     3 out of 10

December, 2010 - We camped here for 4 nights for free as a promotion for Colorado River Adventures.  We had to attend a 90 minute sales presentation trying to get us to buy into the RV timeshare program.  If this campground is any indication of the rest of their properties, no thanks.  Although the pool and clubhouse area are very nice, the actual campground is less than desirable.  It is located right next to I-10 and the highway noise is constant and very loud.  The sites are some of the narrowest we have ever seen.  Although our site was a pull-through, we had to back out because it was too narrow to pull through.  They advertise 50 amp service, but we only saw 30 amp.  The roads are in very rough shape, full of holes.  Wi-fi is only available at the building. There are some older units that appear to be permanent residents. We would not pay to stay here.

Desert Hot Springs - Caliente Springs             
$25.85 per night          10 out of 10

December, 2010 - Our rate was a Passport America rate for 7 nights and Good Sam for 1 night. This is the nicest park we've camped at so far.  The sites are fairly big with 50 amp FHU and cable TV.  Wi-fi was free for up to a month and worked OK.  They had a wonderful clubhouse with exercise room, two heated swimming pools, and four hot tubs with varying degrees of temperature, a billiard room, shuffleboard courts, tennis courts and a nine hole executive golf course (extra fee).  There are also many activities to join.  Many sites are occupied by park models, but there were still a fair amount of RV spots available.  It's close to Palm Springs and Joshua Tree National Park.  We would definitely camp here again in the future.

Valley Center - Woods Valley Kampground            
$22.00 per night          3 out of 10

December, 2010 - We chose this park due to it being 30 miles from San Diego.  It was less expensive than most parks closer to the city.  Their website advertises cable TV, but we were informed in the office it hasn't worked for five years.  The campground has nice trees and some grass areas.  We have a FHU 30 amp site.  The electric seems low as the breaker popped frequently.  At one point, the breaker overheated and burned and ruined our electrical adapter. There is no wi-fi.  There were record rainfalls while we were here, and the entrance road was closed for most of one day.  This happened to be the day we had to pick up family at the airport so we had to walk out and rent a car to get to the airport.  The campground is owned by a corporation, and they would not even consider any type of a refund for not being able to drive out of the campground and pick up our kids.  The roads are very washed out and full of holes.  It was bad when we got here, but has gotten much worse with the rain.  There was a pool which they cleaned, but it was not heated so was too cold to swim in.  There are a number of permanent residents, some with very old units.  We would definitely not camp here again.

Colorado

Blanca - Blanca RV Park
$10.00 per night     2 out of 10

October, 2010 - The price paid reflects a Passport America price. These are some sites next to a gas station in a small town. It was rather run down with some mobile homes to the side. We stayed here for a few nights to visit Great Sand Dunes National Park which is nearby. Our site was a full hook-up pull-through 30 amp site. The sites and roads are quite narrow. There appeared to be a number of construction workers staying here. There was quite a bit of road and train noise. The lady in the office was very friendly and helpful regarding information about the area. This was an OK place to stay for a night or two due to the inexpensive price and proximity to the national park.

Loveland - Loveland RV Resort
$46.60 per night           5 out of 10

October, 2015 - Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Very overpriced. We would definitely not classify this as a resort. Sites are very tight with many trees and consist of some gravel, dirt and a little grass. Roads were pretty narrow. Buildings need updating and maintenance. Pool was closed. We had a 30 amp full hook up site. There were some 50 amp sites, but none available. Wi-fi at our site worked pretty well as we were right across from a tower. The parks location is very good; very close to Loveland. There is a large shopping center within walking distance with many restaurants. Many of the sites seemed to be occupied by permanent residents and oil workers. We stayed here because many other places were fully booked late in October. If we stay in the Denver area again, we will make reservations earlier to get a better place such as one of the state parks.

Canon City - Royal View Camp Resort                  
$32.40 per night          6 out of 10

October, 2010 - We camped here to visit the Royal Gorge area. After researching the area, we found the price to be one of the more reasonable. When we arrived, we were told that any unit over 34 feet must pay an extra $3 per night for a 50 amp site; there was no option to have a 30 amp site. On 2 of the 4 mornings we were there, our surge protector shut off our electric due to low voltage. We had a nice pull-thru site with free wi-fi, but it was extremely slow, about the same speed as dial-up. The campground was very well maintained and clean. All the sites were gravel. The pool looked nice, but was closed for the season.  Nice views including the Royal Gorge Bridge from some sites.

Cortez - LaMesa RV Park  
$18.75 per night          8 out of 10

October, 2010 - Rate reflects weekly price including tax. Campground is on outskirts of Cortez and is very close to Mesa Verde National Park. There are many other things to do in the area. We had a full hook-up site with 30 amp. Free wi-fi, but it works only close to office. Sites are spacious with some shade. Has gravel with a concrete pad and a vinyl covered picnic table; nice extras. Woman in office was very friendly and helpful with area information. We would definitely stay here again.

Estes Park - Estes Park Campground at Marys Lake   
$38.46 per night          6 out of 10

September, 2010 - The price reflects a nightly rate of $30 plus $7 daily county park fee and tax. This is one of the most reasonably priced parks we found near Rocky Mountain National Park, only a few miles from the entrance. The views were very nice. We had a full hook-up site with 50 amp service and free wi-fi. There was a pool, but it had a sign that said it was closed for repairs. All sites were gravel with a few trees around the campground. The gravel roads were in rough shape with many holes and very uneven. I believe the county has taken this park over from a private owner and is working on fixing it up.

Florida

Callahan - Kelly's Countryside RV Park
$31 per night                         6 out of 10

March, 2017 - Rate is with Good Sam discount. Conveniently located between Jacksonville and the Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge in Georgia, which is why we came here. Roads are gravel, sites are grass and sand and pretty close together. Most of park seems to be permanent residents with one row of pull-through sites for short term stays. Fine for a few nights to visit the area. Full hook up 50 amp sites, fairly level. Wi-fi is quite good. Woman in office was very nice and helpful. Bath house and laundry, clubhouse and no other amenities. Fine for a few nights to explore area.

Cedar Key - Cedar Key RV Resort
$38 per night                  8 out of 10

March, 2017 - Rate is weekly rate with Good Sam discount for 3 of those nights. This is one of the nicest parks we've been to as far as sites go. They are very spacious for a private park, have concrete pads and patios, and all roads are paved and wide. Almost all sites are back-in. Full hook up 50 amp, nice and level, cable TV (no over air channels). Pedestals are marine style, all very nice. Park is super clean and beautifully landscaped and maintained. There is a pool and one pickle ball court and one shuffleboard court. Also a clubhouse with a few organized activities. Not too much to do in this area. Cedar Key is a small old town with a few shops and restaurants. Fishing and boating seem to be the popular past times. Wi-fi was hit and miss when park was nearly full. Would have rated this a 10 if wi-fi was better and there was more to do in the area and park.

Destin - Henderson Beach State Park
$33 per night                       8 out of 10

March, 2013 - Beautiful state park in the heart of Destin. Campground is within walking distance of beach. Very large RV sites, some are pull throughs. Sites are 50 amp and water, no sewer. Somewhat wooded so may not get satellite TV reception at all sites. Nice walking trails and boardwalk to beach. This park is the best maintained park we have ever been at. Everything is immaculate. Bathrooms were fantastic. Would have given this park a 10 if they had sewer and wi-fi.

Dunedin - Dunedin RV Resort
$71 per night          7 out of 10

March, 2017 - This park has two separate sections. The front is FHU 50 amp pull-thru sites with paved pad and patio. The back section is for long term residents and are more gravel and grass sites. Overall, this park was good with nice pool, shuffleboard, bean bag toss, laundry rooms and clubhouse with some activities run by residents. Wi-fi worked fine in front section, not sure about back area. Great biking trails all around the area with access right in front of RV park. Nice park, but a bit overpriced for our liking, but that seems to be true in all of Florida.

Fort Pierce - Road Runner Travel Resort
$36 per night                       6 out of 10

January, 2017 - Price reflects monthly rate with electricity being extra. This is a decent park with most amenities you would expect at a resort including pool, clubhouse, store, cafe, tennis court, shuffleboard, and laundry. Between 40 and 50 percent of residents are French Canadian who do not seem to be very friendly. We did not join any scheduled activities because everything we saw, people were speaking French and we didn't really feel very welcome. Most sites are grass and/or weeds with a concrete picnic slab. Our site was weeds only with no pad, but we put our mat out for the month to keep dirt out of our RV. Our site was level with 50 amp FHU, back in. All sites are back-in except for a few pull thrus for short term stays. Wi-fi is hit and miss. Worked sporadically, but was not reliable.

Freeport (10 miles from Santa Rosa Beach) - Live Oak Landing
$35 per night                                  9 out of 10

March, 2014 - Price reflects weekly rate. Very nice campground about 10 miles north of Florida Panhandle beaches. Some sites are along a river with nice views. RV sites and cottages available to rent. Roads are paved and all sites have concrete pads and patios with picnic table and fire ring. Very nice enclosed swimming pool open April through October. This park is only a few years old so everything is nice and new. All is very well maintained. Bathrooms are excellent. Boat launch for boaters and fishermen. Free wi-fi and cable, both work well.

Homosassa - Nature's Resort
$31 per night         5 out of 10

March, 2017 - Price was with Good Sam discount and included tax. This is a very mixed use park. It feels more like a campground than resort, but they do have a clubhouse, pool, marina with tiki bar and some activities. Most sites seem to be occupied by permanent residents; many who seem to come for the weekend. There did seem to be some snowbirds as well. Marina has boat launch and there is boat storage, so lots of boaters on the weekend. Big rig section F is way in the back in a large gravel lot with hook-ups. To get there, you have to navigate down a long and windy road with trees on both sides. Doable, but be careful! Sites are very close together. Just enough room for slides and awning, but almost touching. Our picnic table was black with mold and looked like it would collapse if sat on. There is a brand new section N just opened closer to the front for big rigs with pull-thru sites and concrete patios. Wi-fi was okay most of the time. No over the air TV channels available. We were able to get satellite in section F, but much of park is too wooded. They have cable TV, but we did not use it. Seems to be very popular with partiers.

Lake City - Casey Jones RV Park
$29 per night               6 out of 10

December, 2016 - Price was with Good Sam discount and included tax. We were checked in by a very nice man. Our site was pull through on grass with FHU 50 amp. The wi-fi did not work at our site. Over half the park are permanents or long time snowbirds. A few rows in the middle are open for short term stays. Location is close to I-75 for an easy overnight stay. We stayed here for a night on our way to southern Florida.

Mexico Beach - Rustic Sands RV Resort Campground
$24 per night                                4 out of 10

March, 2014 - Price reflects Passport America rate for 7 nights. There is no limit on how many nights you can use PA. Made this reservation eight months before arriving and was told we would have a pull-through site. We weren't sure how long we were going to stay, so they suggested to make reservation for a month and anything over two weeks and two days would be less expensive at monthly rate. We arrived on Sunday and office was closed. They left map for us with our site number. It was a back in site at the back of the park where we were squeezed in between a few other campers. Lots of old run down mobile homes in back of park. Roads are gravel and full of pot holes. Sites are dirt and grass with some gravel here and there. Super dirty if it rains. After seeing where we were placed, we decided to only stay a week. First they tried to make us forfeit our $100 deposit for changing reservation even though they were the ones who suggested to make the reservation for a month. When we wouldn't accept that, they tried to charge us a $10 change fee. When we started arguing they didn't charge us any extra. What a rip off!! Looks like no money is put back into park. It was full during our stay over spring break. Most sites looked to have snowbirds who stayed for entire winter. Only saving grace to this place is it is only 1/2 mile from the beach. They did have a decent looking pool and a small tiki bar behind office with free entertainment two nights a week. Free wi-fi and cable did not work at our site. Very wooded so difficult if you have satellite TV. Restrooms were old and dingy, not very clean. Decent laundry room. We would never stay here again.

Naples - Rock Creek RV Resort and Campground
$57 per night                                        6 out of 10

February, 2017 - Rate is based on monthly rate and included $100 of electricity. This park is very clean, well maintained and beautifully landscaped with paved roads and sites. There are a few pull through sites, but most all are back in and are very tight. The feel of the sites is most need a shoe horn to get into. There is no parking for any additional vehicles or visitors which means there are frequently cars parked partly into the road. The wi-fi works great in the middle of the night, but is pretty much useless during the day. Pool is very nice and clean. There is a rec hall with some scheduled activities. There are no other amenities other than a laundry room. About half the sites are permanent residents. There is a separate section for pet owners. People are very friendly. Naples Municipal Airport is right across the road, and there is often noise from the planes. Naples is an expensive area and it was very hard to find an RV park for a month during February.

Georgia

Rossville - Holiday Travel Park (Just across the border from Chattanooga, TN)
$39 per night             9 out of 10

October, 2016 - Very nice RV park very close to the tourist area of Chattanooga.  Decent sized 50 amp, level, FHU, pull through sites. Some trees, but not totally wooded. We were able to get satellite with our portable dish. Main road is paved. Sites are gravel pads with grass between, a patio and picnic table. Cable available, we didn't use. Super clean bathrooms. Wi-Fi worked very well most of the time. A free interesting movie about Civil War battles fought in the area available to view in office. About half the park look to be permanent residents.  Some noise from low flying planes from nearby airport.

Illinois


Carlock - Kamp Komfort RV Park and Campground
$33 per night                         7 out of 10

October, 2016 - Near Bloomington, right off of I-74. Very nicely maintained and landscaped campground with many long and level pull through sites. FHU with 50 amp. We were at the edge of the park and were still able to get a good signal on their wi-fi. Lady in office was very nice. Nice looking pool which was closed for the season. Only drawback was interstate noise which was pretty loud even with windows closed. We were able to get good satellite reception at our site. Some sites have trees. Would have given this a higher rating if not for road noise.

Granite City - Granite City KOA
$45 per night              6 out of 10

April, 2017 - North of St. Louis off of I-70. We stopped for one night passing through. Woman in office was very nice and showed us to our site. Roads and site are gravel with grass between. Full hook-up pull through site, fairly level. Entrance is through an industrial park. Some permanent residents. Wi-fi worked okay. Convenient for visiting St. Louis without having to battle traffic on I-55. Overpriced, but convenient.

Springfield - Illinois State Fairgrounds
$20 per night          7 out of 10


April, 2011 and April, 2012 - We stayed here on our way back to Wisconsin. As you head north there aren't always campgrounds available in April. This was a typical fairground. They did have sites on grass or asphalt. As the ground was wet, we chose the asphalt. The rate reflects the senior discount for a full-hook up site, regular price is $25 per night. Free wi-fi with a good signal. Close to Abraham Lincoln sites.

Iowa


Amana - Amana Colonies RV Park
$17 per night          7 out of 10

April, 2013 - Rate is Passport America rate for up to 2 nights. We had a FHU 50 amp level site. Sites are back to back, so are pull-through if no one is in the site behind you. We were there on the opening weekend and were the only people in the park other than a few work campers. People in the office were very nice and helpful. The campground is a large field with some small trees. There is a very nice laundry building. The location is very convenient to the Amana Colonies with a bike trail going to Amana. The wi-fi worked great, very fast as we were the only ones there.

Cedar Falls - Black Hawk Park
$22 per night            8 out of 10


October, 2011 - Rate is for full hook-up 30 amp site. Electric only sites were $17. This is a very nice county park with large gravel sites. Site also had a picnic table and fire ring. There are miles of hiking and biking trails accessible from the park. Nice natural environment not far from US Hwy. 20.

Waterloo - George Wyth State Park
$11 per night                 7 out of 10

October, 2012 - Rate is their fall rate. 50 amp electric only site. Water and dump station available. Wooded park and campground, nice natural setting. Big back in sites with picnic table and fire ring. Great bike and hiking trails. No wi-fi. Good TV antenna signal. Close to town.


Kansas


Assaria - Lakeside Recreation Park
$15.00 per night              2 out of 10

April, 2013 - Rate is Passport America. We stayed here one night on our way to Omaha from Oklahoma. Access road to campground is 1.5 mile dirt road. Campground is old and rundown. There are a few gravel pull-through sites, however either electric or water did not work at most of them. I think we got the only site where both worked. There are a few permanent residents. Payment is self-registration. Bath building was locked. Advertised wi-fi was not working. Some low hanging branches to watch out for. We would definitely not stay here again.

Coffeyville - Big Chief RV Park
Free               4 out of 10


October to December, 2011, 2012 and 2013 - This is a park across the street from Amazon.com. Sites are occupied by workampers hired by Amazon, and paid for by Amazon. Gravel road, gravel sites with some grass and weeds between. Lots of pot holes. Bath house and laundry room. Full hook-ups with 50 amps. Free wi-fi. Fine for a convenient place to stay while working at Amazon.


Paola (30 miles south of Kansas City) - Hillsdale State Park
$20.20 per night                         9 out of 10


October, 2011 - Rate reflects their winter pricing and includes the camping and park daily fee. We were in the Scott Creek loop. Gorgeous park built on a reservoir. Our site overlooked the water. Sites have water and 50 amp electric. No sewer sites. Lots of biking and hiking trails. Amazing natural setting.


Kentucky

Frankfort - Elkhorn Campground
$35 per night                4 out of 10

October, 2016 - Price is with Good Sam discount. FHU site with 50 amp. When making reservation was told site would be pull-through. Technically, it was if you were the first one there which we were. We pulled through and then someone else was backed up directly behind us. Sites are very close together. Campground is older and showing wear. Seems minimally maintained. Section we were in had wooden patio with picnic table on it. Pretty many trees, but we were lucky to be able to get satellite reception with our portable dish. Wi-fi worked pretty well at our site. Lady in office was unfriendly when checking in. A few days later when we asked where laundry room was as it was unmarked, she was rude again. A day before we were to leave, she called us on phone and tried to tell us we had to leave that day. When we didn't agree, she hung up on us. We paid with cash because there is a surcharge for using credit card, and she never gave us receipt. Luckily, her husband remembered a problem we had with someone else plugged into our 50 amp plug when we arrived, and he remembered when we arrived, which was not the same date she said. We would never stay here again due to the tight sites and extremely rude woman in office.

Paducah - Duck Creek RV Park
$33 per night                     6 out of 10

October, 2016 - Price is with Good Sam 10% discount. Park is conveniently located to Paducah attractions. Roads and sites are gravel. Our site was FHU, 50 amp, level and was plenty long enough for any size rig. The Wi-Fi was okay most of the time. They have cable, but we didn't use it. All sites are open for satellite connection. Majority of sites seem to be occupied by long term residents. Okay for a few days, but is in need of some TLC and upkeep.

Louisiana

Duson - Frog City RV Park
$23 per night                  7 out of 10

January, 2014 - Price is two nights at $17.50 Passport America and one night at $31.50 Good Sam rate. Convenient location off of I-10 behind a truck stop and motel. Some noise from highway and trains, but not bad. Paved road and gravel and grass pull-thru sites. Good size sites, FHU 50 amp. Free wi-fi, but a bit slow. Great spot for an overnight or a few nights while on the road. Nearby city of Rayne had interesting frog statues and murals. Cute place to spend an hour or two.

New Orleans - Jude Travel Park
$22 per night                         6 out of 10

January, 2014 - Price is based on monthly stay. Stayed here for a month to visit New Orleans and have a place to leave RV while taking a cruise out of New Orleans. There are not many decent affordable RV parks in the area. This park is not in the best neighborhood, but is only 5 miles from the French Quarter. It is owned by a very nice couple who live on site. Entire park is fenced with a security gate at night. We felt safe here. Not a big place with a row of sites along each side of road. Road and all sites are gravel. FHU 50 amp with free wi-fi. Nice hot tub and swimming pool, although pool was not heated in winter.

Mississippi

Biloxi - Majestic Oaks RV Resort
$32 per night                    8 out of 10

February, 2014 - Rate is weekly rate. Very nice park about a few miles from the Gulf Shore beaches and Biloxi casinos. Paved roads and sites with FHU 50 amp service and a bench/picnic table at each site. Some pull through sites are a bit short for RV and vehicle. Nice pool, but not heated. Free wi-fi and cable, but wi-fi was very slow. Very well maintained and landscaped park. There are curbs at the end of each site which made parking a bit tricky. Nice laundry room. No planned activities, but they did have a free lunch on Saturday.

Clinton - Springridge Mobile Estates and RV Park
$30 per night                       6 out of 10


November, 2016 - Price reflects 10% Good Sam Discount. Mobile park with large asphalt parking lot in center with RV sites. Sites are pull-through, FHU 50 amp. Tight sites with thorny bushes dividing some of them. Asphalt was very broken in some areas making sites not as level as they should be. Wi-fi advertised, but did not work. Open sites so satellite signal was easy to get. Okay for an overnight or a few days to explore Jackson and Vicksburg areas.


Shannon - Natchez Trace RV Park
$23 per night                  6 out of 10

November, 2016 - Price is weekly rate. FHU, 50 amp, pull-through site. Roads and sites are gravel with some grass between. Picnic table at site. About 10 miles from Tupelo and Natchez Trace Visitor Center. Some trees, but we were able to get signal on our portable satellite dish. Verizon data signal slow. No wi-fi. Small pool and cabin with one washer and dryer, $1 each per load.

Missouri


Cameron - Wallace State Park
$20 per night               7 out of 10

October 15 to 16, 2012 - 30 amp electric only site with level pad. Water and dump station available. Some pull through sites available. Beautiful fall camping location. Natural setting with hiking trails and a lake. We didn't have time to explore on this visit.

Carthage - Big Red Barn RV Park
$17.50 per night             8 out of 10


April 14, 2012 - Rate reflects Passport America price. FHU pull-through level site with 50 amp service. Our site had a nice concrete pad for picnic table and concrete path from road to RV. Free wi-fi and cable TV. Both worked great. Very nice well-maintained and clean park with pretty landscaping. Easy access off I-44. Nice people in the office. Would definitely stay here again.

Cuba - Meramec Valley RV Park
$17.00 per night           3 out of 10


April 15, 2012 - Rate reflects Passport America price. FHU pull-through site with 30 amp service. Everything about this park is old and run down. It needs a lot of work. Roads are full of big ruts and pot holes. Sites are gravel and not at all level. No wi-fi. No TV reception where we were. Poor cell phone reception. Lots of trees with low hanging branches. We would not stay here again.

Platte City - Basswood Resort
$22.00 per night          8 out of 10

April, 2014 - Rate is Passport America price for one night. Just north of Kansas City about five miles from I-29. We had a FHU 50 amp pull through site. Roads were paved, site was gravel. Decent spacing between sites. Free cable and wi-fi advertised. We did not try cable, but wi-fi did not work at our site. Airport nearby with planes flying low. Bathrooms were great.

Waynesville - Glen Oaks RV Park
$20 per night          4 out of 10


April, 2011 - Rate reflects Good Sam discount.  FHU pull-through site with 30 amp service. Free wi-fi, but it was very slow.  Basic campground right off of I-44. Good place to stay for a night.  We would stay here again for an easy overnight stop.


Nebraska

Big Springs - McGreer Camper Park    
$12.50 per night          3 out of 10

September, 2010 - Price reflects Passport America rate. We stayed one night for a place to sleep. We never saw anyone. There were envelopes at the office and a slot to put the envelope in. The office was open and there were washers and dryers available, but we didn't use them. This is a large field on the edge of a farmer's field with some hook-ups. We did have a full hook-up 50 amp, pull-thru site, but that's it. Conveniently located about a mile off the interstate. This is definitely a place to just spend the night.

October, 2015 - Stayed again for one night. Price is now $17.84 with tax using Passport America. Nothing else has changed. Their registration form stated they had wi-fi, but it did not work at our site. Quite a bit of interstate noise, as well as farm vehicles racing up the drive next to the RVs. Several roaming farm cats that tried to get into our truck and storage compartments. Verizon signal was good, but only TV stations we got were three PBS. Definitely just a place to spend the night.

Greenwood - Pine Grove RV Park
$38 per night                6 out of 10

October, 2014 - Rate is with Good Sam discount. We had a FHU 50 amp pull through site which was level. Roads and sites are gravel with a decent amount of grass between sites. There was also a picnic table at the site. They advertise free wi-fi for one device, but it did not work. We were getting security notices and our devices would not connect. There is a race track nearby and the noise was very loud on Friday and Saturday night. The park is just off the interstate so there is some road noise. We feel this place could use some TLC and is a bit overpriced, however there are not many choices in the area. We would probably stay here again to visit family in Lincoln.

Papillion - Walnut Creek Lake and Recreation Area
$16.00 per night           8 out of 10

April, 2013 - This is a great campground near Omaha run by the City of Papillion. Our site #6 backed up to a small pond with lots of birds and wildlife. Pads are concrete and level with a concrete patio, picnic table and grill. Roads in the park are paved. Some sites are 50 amp, some 30 amp. Water and sewer are not available at the sites. There are three water spigots in the park to fill your tanks. There is no wi-fi. There is a very nice paved 5K walking/bike riding trail in the park. This park would have gotten a 10 rating if they had full hookups and wi-fi. We will definitely camp here again when we are in the area.

Nevada

Amargosa Valley - Longstreet Hotel, Casino and RV Resort      
$10.14 per night          6 out of 10

November, 2010 - The rate reflects the monthly price. We camped here due to the proximity of Death Valley National Park and the fact that the monthly rate was very reasonable. We had a FHU site with 50 amp. Wi-fi internet is free and works quite well most of the time. Cable TV is available and works, but picture is very poor quality. The campground is basically all gravel with a few small trees. It is behind a casino and hotel which seems to be pretty nice. The swimming pool was closed when we were there. This is a remote area.  The closest grocery store is 30 miles away.  If you camp here, be sure to stock up on food and supplies before you come.  We would definitely camp here again.

Pahrump - Nevada Treasure RV Resort                 
$20.00 per night          8 out of 10

December, 2010 - We camped here for four nights with our Passport America membership.  We really liked this resort and would definitely consider coming back.  The sites are all paved and nicely landscaped.  The sites are rather small, but the place was quite empty when we were there so the site size wasn't an issue for us.  Most sites are back-in, they have a few pull throughs.  We had a 50 amp FHU site with free wi-fi which worked pretty well.  The clubhouse and pool are beautiful.  There is a bowling alley (extra cost) and small restaurant, a large exercise room, three pools and a hot tub.  The pools were not heated, but the hot tub was.  There is also a putting green and shuffleboard courts. 

New Mexico


Albuquerque - Enchanted Trails RV Park and Trading Post
$19.72 per night          6 out of 10


April, 2011 - Price reflects Passport America weekly rate.  Gravel roads with gravel and sand sites.  FHU pull-through site with 30 amp electric.  Conveniently located near I-40 and I-25.  We were here in spring and it was windy and dusty.  They had wi-fi at the site, but it was rather slow.  Camping World next door.  This RV park has some vintage campers and Route 66 items on display.  We would stay here again.


Bernardo - Kiva RV Park and Horse Motel
$13.00  per night         4 out of 10


March, 2011 - Rate reflects Passport America discount.  FHU pull-through site with 50 amp electric.  Nothing fancy with gravel roads and sites.  Decent laundry room.  This was a very pet friendly park.  Camp host and owner had numerous dogs running free.  They barked occasionally, but wasn't a big problem.  Wi-fi available at the office only. We would stay here again as an inexpensive place while passing through.


Deming -  El Rancho Lobo RV Park
$11.15 per night plus electric          4 out of 10


March, 2011 - Rate reflects Passport America discount.  Electric was 12 cents per kwh.  This is a small campground with a gravel area on the outskirts of the campground with several level pull-thru, FHU sites with 50 amp service.  There was free wi-fi, but it was quite slow at times.  This place is nothing fancy, but adequate.  The bathroom was clean and the camp hosts were friendly. It was quite windy while we were there and very dusty.  We would have given this campground a higher rating, but the 2 mile gravel road to get to it makes it lose points.  Our truck and camper were filthy with dust by the time we got to the campground.  Because of this, we would not camp here again.

Lakewood - The Ranch
$50 per week plus electric           6 out of 10


April, 2012 - This is an Escapee park near Carlsbad, New Mexico. They had a special rate of $50 per week for first time visitors. Electric was $.08 per KWH. The closest town with stores was 15 miles away, it's pretty remote. There is a nice clubhouse, but not any other amenities. There were a few activities. The people were friendly and the park is very quiet. Nice reasonably priced laundry.


Las Cruses - Coachlight Inn and RV Park
$18.65 per night               5 out of 10


January 2 and April 12, 2012 - Price reflects Passport America rate. FHU 50 amp gravel site. Park is located close to interstate behind a motel. Sites are pull-thru and decent size. Good for a night or two while on the road. Good free wi-fi.

Las Vegas - Las Vegas, New Mexico KOA
$29 per night                      4 out of 10

October, 2014 - Rate reflects a 10% KOA discount plus an additional $10 off coupon we had. We didn't feel this place was even worth the $29 we paid, let along the full price. Road and sites are gravel. We had a 50 amp pull through site which was pretty level. They were having water problems; pressure was low. Laundry was closed due to water issues. Free wi-fi which did not work for us. This place needs some major TLC. There is not much available in the area. We doubt we would stay here again.

Raton - Summerlan RV Park
$31.94 per night              6 out of 10

October, 2015 - Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We had a 30 amp full hook up, pull through site. Gravel with a few trees. Close to interstate and good location for one night, road noise not too bad. Lady in office was very friendly and gave us information as to where to get our tire replaced after a blowout on the way. Wi-fi was okay. Laundry room available. We would stay here again for a night on our way to Arizona.


Vado - Western Skys RV Park
$19.00 per night          2 out of 10


March, 2011 - Rate reflects Passport America discount.  Price quoted on phone was $16, but they actually charged $19.  Very overpriced for what this place is.  Mainly old, run-down trailers and mobile homes with a row of pull-throughs for overnighters.  FHU pull-through site with 30 amp electric. Very dusty, noisy dogs, and wi-fi that was hit and miss as far as if it was working.  We would never stay here again.

North Carolina

Bear Creek RV Park and Campground
$45 per night                      5 out of 10 

March, 2017 - Perched on the side of a hill above the interstate, this campground requires some windy steep roads to get to it. Some of the back-in sites require backing up an incline to get into the site. We were in what looked to be an add on section with about a dozen pull-thru sites right along a pretty busy street. To get to that section from the check-in office you had to drive through the RV park back out onto the main windy road and come around past the entrance to another entrance. Pretty strange. The pull-thru sites were quite narrow with poles and rocks on both sides. We had to back up twice to make the swing to get into the site without hitting the utility pole because site was not wide enough to make the swing. There was some interstate noise with windows closed. Not a lot of choices for quality RV parks in the Asheville area. Seems a bit overpriced for what you get. Laundry was very small and not very clean. Bathrooms were fine. Wi-fi was hit and miss. 

Oklahoma


Chandler - Oak Glen RV Park
$12 per night          5 out of 10


April, 2011 and April, 2012 - Rate reflects Passport America discount.  FHU pull-through site with 50 amp electric.  Grass and trees throughout park.  Nothing fancy, but fine for a few days.  About 40 miles from Oklahoma City.  Wi-fi is $1 extra per day and works pretty well at your site.  We would stay here again for a few days while passing through the area.

Guthrie - Cedar Valley RV Park
$15 per night            7 out of 10

April, 2013 - Rate is Passport America. We had a FHU 50 amp pull-through site, fairly level. Nice clean campground next to a golf course. Free wi-fi worked well. Laundry was only $1 each to wash and dry. Office staff very nice. A few miles off the highway, but well worth it. We would definitely stay here again.


South Carolina

Hardeeville - Camp Lake Jasper RV Resort
$33 per night                              8 out of 10   

March, 2017 - Price is weekly rate and does not include the 15% in taxes for state, county, city and tourist taxes. We had a pull-through FHU 50 amp site with gravel, grass, a concrete patio, picnic table and fire pit. Roads are paved. The resort has a pool, fishing lake, and laundry room. Sites are nice and big and entire place is super clean and beautifully maintained. Pride of ownership definitely shows. Some sites are on a bit of a hill so leveling might be a bit of a challenge. Good Verizon signal and satellite reception. Wi-fi did not work while we were there, said they were working on it. Great location to visit Savannah, Georgia and Charleston, South Carolina.

Tennessee

Kodak - Dumplin Valley Farm RV Park
$33 per night                 7 out of 10

October, 2016 - About 25 miles north of Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Great place to stay to avoid crowds, traffic and higher prices of RV parks closer to the action. A large field with many sites. A nice section of pull-thrus with FHU 50 amp and level. Wide open with no shade, but great for satellite reception. No wi-fi. Quiet and pretty scenery.

Nashville East/Lebanan KOA
$44 per night           5 out of 10

April, 2017 - Convenient location right off of I-40 and not too far from Nashville. Older KOA that needs some TLC. Grassy areas full of weeds needed mowing. Potholes needed attention. A few rows of pull-thrus in center of park. Back-in sites at rear of park seemed to be permanent residents with some real old units. Hilly area so sites are tiered, but seem pretty level. As with most KOAs, older and in need of attention. Wi-fi worked pretty well. We stayed passing through the area and chose for easy access off interstate.

Texas


Amarillo - AOK Camper Park
$11 per night          2 out of 10


April, 2011 and April, 2012 - Rate reflects Passport America discount. FHU pull-through site with 30 amp electric. This is just a field with some sites, no attendant, no bathrooms. Good for an inexpensive overnight stay.  Easy access to I-40.  We would stay here again for an overnight stop.

Austin - McKinney Falls State Park
$24 per night                 8 out of 10

March, 2013 - We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70 which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. We had site #14, a water and 50 amp electric paved pull-through level site. The site was nice and large and we were able to get a satellite signal. This is a very nice and quiet park during the week. Great hiking and biking trails that would be better if they were marked more clearly. Beautiful natural setting with two waterfalls. Very nice and clean bathrooms.

Austin - Oak Forest RV Park
$22 per night               9 out of 10

Rate reflects Passport America price, Sunday through Thursday only. FHU completely level concrete paved 50 amp site. Beautifully maintained and clean campground with pool and hot tub. Free wi-fi and cable TV. Plan to stay here again on our way north in April.

Blanco - Blanco State Park
$23 per night        7 out of 10

March, 2013 - We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70 which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. Our site was #6, a FHU 50 amp paved back in site. There are some low hanging branches to watch out for in the park. Sites and roads are tight for big rigs. There was free wi-fi available, but it was quite slow. This is a great location for visiting Hill Country attractions including the Johnson historical sites. Swimming is available in the river.

Canyon Lake - Rio Raft and Resort
$17.33 per night            7 out of 10

March, 2013 - Rate is Passport America. Site was FHU 30 amp and was a good size. The free wi-fi did not work at our site. Cable TV was available at an extra charge. There was a nice swimming pool. The campground is on a river, but only rental cottages have a river view. We would stay here again.

Carrollton - Sandy Lake RV Resort
$27 per night                   3 out of 10

December 29 to 31, 2012 - Rate reflects 2 nights at $20 per night Passport America rate and 1 night at $40 per night regular rate. FHU 50 amp gravel pull-through site. This is not a resort, just a corporate owned campground with extremely tight sites. Luckily we had a site on the end of a row so getting in and out wasn't too bad. Pool was closed, no hot tub. Good free wi-fi. No way worth $40 per night. Would not stay here again.

Cleburne - Cleburne State Park
$28 per night            7 out of 10

March, 2013 - We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70 which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. Our site #34 was a back-in FHU 30 amp site in a valley area. Many trees with some low hanging branches to watch out for. No satellite reception and very poor cell reception. Some sites have a lake view. This park is quite far from the highway and rather secluded which makes it a quiet area. However, we were there Easter weekend so all sites were full and we had some noisy neighbors with barking dogs they allowed to roam off leash. Nice clean bathrooms. Some hiking trails.

Galveston - Jamaica Beach RV Resort
$32 per night                      9 out of 10

January, 2013 - Park is right across the street from Gulf beaches. FHU 50 amp paved and level pull-through sites. Paved roads. Very nice park with two pools which were closed in the winter. Huge enclosed hot tub which was wonderful in the cooler weather. Park also has a pond and a mini-golf course. Free wi-fi which worked okay and free cable.

Grand Prairie (near Arlington) - Trader's Village RV Park
$31 per night                 7 out of 10

December, 2013 - Price reflects Good Sam discount. FHU 50 amp, level site with concrete pad and paved roads. Sites are somewhat narrow. Free wi-fi. Next door to huge flea market on weekends. Great place to stop near Dallas area for a few days. Nice and inexpensive laundry. Had a nice looking pool, but was closed during winter.

Houston - Trader's Village RV Park
$28 per night                    7 out of 10

December, 2013 - Rate reflects weekly rate. FHU 50 amp paved site. Paved roads. Sites are somewhat narrow. Clean and well maintained. Free wi-fi, but did not work entire week we were there. They were supposedly upgrading it. Large flea market next door on weekends. Good location for visiting Houston area.

Kerrville - Hill Country RV Park
$0 per night            0 out of 10

March, 2013 - BEWARE of the tree overhanging the main road that is too low for large rigs. This park is definitely not big rig friendly even though the owner assured me when I made a reservation that there would be no problem for our size unit. We have a 37' fifth wheel and the tree overhanging the main road put an 11 foot tear in our roof. All but two of the sites appeared to be occupied by permanent residents. Some of the trailers were quite old. The bathrooms were old and not very clean. The 50 amp plug at our site did not work so we had to use the 30 amp plug. The cable wires along the back of the sites are very low and was laying on top of our roof. Many trees and large rocks at entrance to the sites make these sites very difficult to get into. This park seems to be for permanent residents. We would NEVER camp here again!!!!  

Midland - Midland RV Park
$22.95 per night                5 out of 10


January 1, 2012 - We stopped here for one night. Price reflects 15% Escapee discount. FHU 50 amp level gravel site. Good free wi-fi and cable. Okay for a quick stop. Park is rather run-down.


Mission - Americana RV Resort
$502 per month plus electric           6 out of 10

January 3 to February 3, 2013 - We spent a month here to visit and explore the Rio Grande Valley area of Texas. Older park in need of some updating. Nice small pool and hot tub. Nice clubhouse with a few activities. Nothing special. For $70 more for the month we could have stayed at the much nicer Bentsen Palm RV Village a few miles down the road. We had a FHU 50 amp site right next to the road with lots of road noise. All sites are back in. Our site had a concrete patio, not all sites have this. We also had a grapefruit tree on our site. Free wi-fi at clubhouse only. If you want it at your site, you have to pay. Heard it wasn't a very good signal. People staying at park and employees were nice. We would not stay here again.

Port Aransas - Marina Beach RV Resort
$435 per month plus electric        8 out of 10

February, 2013 - We stayed here for the month of February. It is a convenient centrally located park in Port Aransas within walking distance to the channel, gulf beaches, and downtown shops and restaurants. We had a FHU 50 amp paved back in site. Roads are paved and fairly wide. Wi-fi was available at an extra charge. Sites are pretty close together, but nothing different than many RV parks. There was a small clubhouse with a nice laundry area. The pool was open, but water was very cold. There was also a hot tub with a cover similar to what you would have in your backyard. We never saw anyone use either the pool or hot tub. There are a few activities offered. Calling this a resort is stretching it. Overall, we did enjoy our stay due to the convenient location. Park was very clean. We would stay here again.

Santo - Coffee Creek RV Resort
$17.50 per night cash           9 out of 10


December 30 and 31, 2011 - Rate reflects Passport America discount. FHU pull-through level gravel site. This is a fairly new campground and in very good condition, well maintained and very clean. There is a game room, exercise room, and very nice pool and hot tub. The laundry room and bathrooms were fantastic. There was free wi-fi, but it was rather slow. We would definitely stay here again.

Valley View - Ray Roberts Lake State Park-Johnson Loop
$26.00 per night                       8 out of 10

April, 2013 - We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70 which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. We had a water and 50 amp electric paved pull-through site overlooking a lake. This is a very nice park with a swimming beach and many hiking and biking trails including one very nice paved trail. Very nice and clean bathrooms.

Von Ormy - Hidden Valley RV Park
$24 per night                   5 out of 10

March, 2013 - Conveniently located near San Antonio. Rate is weekly price. FHU 50 amp pull through site on grass. Free decent wi-fi. This is a bare bones park. No bathhouse. There is a single bathroom available in a mobile home they are using as a "clubhouse". A few pay washers and dryers available in a garage, but were not clean and I would not use them. Lady at check in was very nice and gave us tourist information for the area and a good tip on inexpensive parking in San Antonio. There is a one mile gravel road to get to campground. We would probably not stay here again.

Wallisville - Turtle Bayou RV Park
$18 per night                3 out of 10

January, 2014 - Price is Passport America rate. We stayed here to visit the Wildlife Refuge in the area. Park is right next to I-10 so easy access for passing through. However, there is traffic noise. There were several wild cats roaming around. Most sites are down steep hill. We stayed at some pull-through sites on the top across from office. Gravel roads and grassy, muddy sites. FHU 30 amp site where we were. Free decent wi-fi. Nice laundry. We were there for three days and twice during that time they turned off the power and water for some work they were doing without any warning.

Utah 

Kanarraville - Red Ledge RV Park 
$15.75 per night          6 out of 10

October, 2010 - Rate reflects Passport America discount including tax. This is a small campground with 22 sites, 6 of them pull-thru. We were asked to park parallel to a fence on the grass which was fine, but only had 30 amp electric with water and sewer. It was cold and we could have used the 50 amp for heaters. Campground is clean with level sites, grass and trees and nice views. There is free wi-fi, but it was not working well during our stay. Office staff nice and helpful.  Nice and quiet with good views.

Marysvale - South-Forty RV Park
$28.00 per night          6 out of 10

October, 2010 - We stayed at this park to visit Capitol Reef and Bryce Canyons. It is located in a remote area with not much else near it. It appears this area is big for ATV and off-road recreation. The park was fairly new and very clean and well-maintained. Our rate was for a FHU 30 amp site with free Wi-Fi and nice views. All sites are gravel with no shade, small trees are planted, but will take a while to mature. Sites were large and level. We were here near end of the season and there were only 3 units in entire park. Wi-fi was great. They do not offer any type of discount and it was a bit over-priced in our opinion.

Moab - OK RV Park and Canyonlands Stables          
$15.50 per night          9 out of 10

October, 2010 - This was a great park. Sites were reasonably spaced with a little grass between each site and trees. View of the red rocks were beautiful. Our rate reflects a Passport America discount. There was no limit on number of nights you could stay with the discount. We had a FHU 50 amp site which was pretty level. The park was well maintained and clean. They had free wi-fi and cable, but the wi-fi was slow at times; I'm sure due to heavy use. Staff was very friendly and helpful. This park is close to Arches National Park.

Wisconsin

Beaver Dam - Derge County Park
$18 per night               8 out of 10


Summers of 2011 through 2015 - We camphosted at this park for the summer. There are 25 sites, all with 30 amp electric. The road and sites are paved. There is no water at any of the sites, but there is water available to fill your tanks at the park entrance. The park is located on Beaver Dam Lake with beautiful views, fishing and a boat launch. There are also two shelters to rent, one partially enclosed and one fully enclosed. We love the setting of this park, and will be back.

Columbus - Astico County Park
$18 per night             7 out of 10


Summer of 2010 - We camphosted at this park for the summer. There are about 75 sites, some with 20 amp electric, some with 30 amp and some with 50 amp. There are some electric and some tenting sites along the Crawfish River. A nice natural setting. Roads and some sites are paved. There is no water at any of the sites, but there is water available to fill your tanks as you enter the park. Canoes and kayaks are available to rent.

Wyoming

Cheyenne - Terry Bison Ranch Resort
$23 per night               5 out of 10

October, 2014 - Price reflects Passport America discount for one night. This is a very unusual campground. It is a working bison ranch with a gravel campground with pull-through sites that are very close together. It appeared most of the campers were workers in the area. There are also some cabins for rent. They seem to have quite a few family activities in the summer. We had a FHU gravel pull-through site with 50 amp electric which was pretty level. The park is right off of I-25 so there is road noise. The wi-fi was free, but pretty slow. We would stay here again for an overnight.